Book a
table

5/5 stars – 26/02/2014 – Satomi Taylor @ Queen St – Fantastic food and great atmosphere with comfortable decor. This place makes you feel at home and yet provides quality service and fun food. The best place in Queen street. I want to try it at lunchtime next time.

5/5 stars – 30/01/2014 – Jess – Amazing, my galette was just perfect, cider served in a bolee as in Bitanny ( right way) loved the ambiance and everything about the atmosphere! I ll be back for sure ( why not being a regular?!) BEAUTIFUL. I had a great intimate night ( quiet weekday)

5/5 stars – 26/01/2014 – Matt B – A gem of a place. Feasted on snails and rabbit legs. Lovely ambiance, 5 star food and characterful staff. I will always return when visiting.

5/5 stars – 01/12/2013 – Stephen Thom – We only had time for a quick meal but it was brilliant! The service was extremely friendly and personal and the food excellent. A little piece of France in Auckland!

5/5 stars – 17/11/2013 – Brenton – A friend wanted to go to a creperie place near where I live; so off we went and found Le garde-manger (The Pantry). Not being a crepe person, I did have reservations but will try anything once. What a marvellous surprise we had in store – tres bon! When I saw filet de lapin (rabbit fillet) was a special my decision was made and not disappointed – it was as good as I have had in France. My friend had a crepe which I sampled and will certainly order one on a return visit as nothing like I expected. One suggestion though; perhaps take the bunny off the specials or I’ll never get to order a crepe!

5/5 stars – 01/11/2013 – Theresa – First time here with a voucher special. I must say we enjoyed our meals and the escargot was unusually enjoyable. Sparkling wine & cider was great too. Excellent service. Will definitely come back again.

5/5 stars – 18/09/2013 – Flik (Queen St) I have been a fan of La Garde Manger since I first discovered it. It’s such a treat on a cold winter’s day to indulge in their delicious soups or a tasty crepe, or on a lovely sunny day to watch the world go by and enjoy the fantastic service and delicious food. I’ve never had a bad experience – in fact, I’ve had only great experiences and would recommend everyone dine here at least once.

5/5 stars – 10/07/2013 – Vaughan
Booked the set menu for a group of 20. Food was outstanding. Liver Pâté sublime. Service was excellent. Wine list comprehensive with good French choices. Prices very good so the best value for money we have had in a long time. This unpretentious restaurant is strangely located but should be on everyone’s must go list. See you again very soon

5/5 stars – 24/06/2013 – austin
stepped in on a lonely rainy Sunday morning and i immediately felt transported to Paris on a rainy January Day. Delicious coffee, lovely brunch crepe, cider, and to top off with tasty dessert chocolate crepe. Friendly, authentic atmosphere and service. Absolutely perfect!

5/5 stars – 16/06/2013 – alison Sabin-hyde
Absolutely wonderful bought back memories of when I use to be able to go to France for holidays, loved everything about it. Shame the Racclett is only served for 4 or more people as is a favourite of mine and I would have loved to have it. We will be visiting every time we come to Auckland.

5/5 stars – 12/11/2012 – Aline Fortin
bon petit diner entre copines jeudi soir… Particulièrement appréciée de me faire appeler “Mademoiselle” toute la soirée, ça faisait longtemps ;-). Je reviendrais le garde-manger !

5/5 stars – 11/11/2012 – dawn norris
What a amazing restaurant.fantastic food and service! im so recommending this place to all my friends.ill be back there! best place to eat in Auckland!

5/5 stars – 10/11/2012 – Roshni
I love coming here! It’s one of my favourite restaurants in Auckland. Food , French waiting staff and service is always exceptional. It’s almost like a being in France itself. I do hope you try this lovely place. You will not be disappointed

5/5 stars – 12/05/2012 – Marie Jordan
As I teach French at Continuing Education, University of Auckland, I have been told by hips of my students that they love to eat at Le Garde-manger and I had to go to try it my self! Since le Garde-Manger opened, I keep on hearing excellent comments about the food, the nice feeling of being welcomed, the fun of being able to order in French and speak French with the waiter, the range of prices that fits every budget and the French touch in the air that makes you have an extraordianary evening. I love the bavette à l’échalotte than reminds me of eating out in France. I keep on coming back for more! Keep it up! We all love you!

5 stars – 19/04/2012 – Scott Andersson
Excellent service, tasty food and would definitely dine here again! Merci beaucoup.

4 stars – 2011 Michael – Just had my dinner here with a friend, the place is inviting, nice ambiance and tables are well-set. Though they only have a lady server and the manager working tonight, they did a splendid job. I like the girl serving us for she is very accommodating. The food served was great! I had les escargots de bourgogne (½ dozen Burgundy snails, garlic butter sauce and fresh bread) for my entree, love the snails but not the fresh bread (it’s tough and not fresh anymore). Had La Romaine (egg, ratatouille with chicken) for the main, oh it so sumptuous! It’s taste really nice, and heavy too, wasn’t able to finish the whole main (making space for my dessert though). And lastly for the dessert, I had crème brûlée! Perfect hard caramel on top, but would have been better if it was served cold to us, and perhaps put a little flavour on it, like orange zest? For the wine, the lady ser ver said it would be good if we choose red wine but my friend and I preferred white, so we took a carafe of French pinot gris – Arthur Metz, and it was perfect for our meal. All in all, my experience in Le garde-manger was absolutely fantastic! Would love to come back again for other French treats!

4 stars – 2011 Lisa – Oh! How nice. We came recently for my sister in laws birthday. The food was extraordinary, the house french wine was wonderful. Even my hard to please husband said he was impressed. It really was worth coming to Auckland for. A very special night.

5 stars – 2011 Sean Taylor – Ive been going here since it opened in what feels like years ago, brilliant atmosphere and really great food. Definitely recommend! Especially the Crepe Calvados.

5 stars -2011 Greg Longstaff – I had dinner here with a group of friends and we all had a great meal and time.

5 stars – 2011 Adil Sbai – “magnifique!”

5 stars – 2011 Kent – If you have been to France or want to go, Le garde-manger is the next best thing. So very French and the food is delicious!

5 stars – 2011 Luen Maree Wong – Had a great evening out recently at Le garde-manger. The food was great and service was excellent. (those accents?!are they for real!) Can I recommend the crepe with ice-cream and nutella for desert… don’t knock it till you’ve tried it people!

5 stars – 2011 Jasmine Hunter – Really enjoyed our meal on Wednesday night after being introduced to Le garde-manger by a regular. The fish was perfect thanks.


Please Leave a Review

Please tell us about your dining experience

Your Name (required)

Your Email (required)

Restaurant

Stars Rating
12345

Comments

Add me to your e-newsletter:

Le Garde-Manger

Le Garde Manger French Restaurant

Get In Touch

Le Garde Manger, Auckland City
466 Queen St, Auckland

Phone 09 362 0655

Le Garde Manger, Ponsonby
265 Ponsonby Road

Phone 09 376 2516

Opening Hours

Breakfast
Mon to Fri: 8.00 am to 12.00 noon.
Sat / Sun: 9.00 am to 12.00 noon.

Lunch
Mon to Sun: 11.00 am to 3.00 pm.

Dinner
Mon to Sun: 5.00 pm to late.

Fully licensed

Recent Reviews

"Fantastic food and great atmosphere with comfortable decor. This place makes you feel at home and yet provides quality service and fun food. The best place in Queen street. I want to try it at lunchtime next time."

5/5 stars - Satomi Taylor